The SmartFood Program is unique in that it promotes both best practice for school food service management and a whole school approach to healthy eating. This approach provides assurance to the wider school community that the school food service is operating efficiently, safely and according to the school’s values.

The SmartFood Program also responds to the nutritional needs of Tasmanian children and adolescents. It encourages school food menus that offer ‘everyday’ food and drinks from the five food groups as described in the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating (2013). The Program utilises a simple “traffic light” system of GREEN, AMBER and RED foods.

Canteens can aim for one of four levels of accreditation as listed below.

– Platinum

– Gold

– Silver

– Bronze

The SmartFood Program covers four areas:

– Healthy Eating/ Canteen Policy and Canteen Procedures

– Food Safety

– Food and Drinks on the Canteen Menu

– Linking the Whole School Approach to Healthy Eating

For an overview of our updated program (including new Platinum level) please view our SmartFood Award Info Sheet Dec 2021